Whew, the holidays are in full force around here! After a whirlwind weekend of football and Thanksgiving celebrations, I felt a little less than my best ( read: I did NOT stick to my one-slice limit on pie!) I decided to take on a little challenge to get me through to the new year. I know that this time of the year is tough for me in terms of health, wellness, and mood. I also know that there are tried and true strategies I’ve used in the past to remain healthy and active in the winter months.

Here is my little challenge for the month of December, starting TODAY!

Each day I plan to do at least 8 out of 10 things on the list:

-Exercise for at least 30 minutes.
-Drink at least 64 oz of water.
-Get at least 7 hours of sleep.
-Eat at least 5 servings of vegetables.
-Avoid preservatives and  fried foods.
-Avoid added sugars.
-Have one or less alcoholic drinks.
-Take a multivitamin.
-Finish eating by 8:30PM at night.
-Limit non-work related screen time to no more than 1 hour.

I’m going to try to get 9 or even 10 out of 10 on most days, but I do plan on indulging at holiday parties and get-together, so this plan gives me the flexibility to splurge a little while still keeping other areas in check. For example, if I want to get a little tipsy one night, I’m not going to let myself get tipsy, eat a bucket of cheese fries, AND destroy a bin of cookie dough at 3am. Moderation.

Will you join me?

 

