I felt alone when my college roommate locked me out of our tiny room. I felt alone when I rode the smelly #7  bus to talk to a clinician in a sterile office. I felt alone debating the pros and cons of life at 4am. I felt desperately alone when people that I trusted told me I was “ too much” or that they “couldn’t deal” with me.

However, I know I am not alone. Mental illness is pretty damn prevalent- according to NAMI, about 1 in 5 adults will experience some form of mental illness in a given year. I hear people mention it to close friends or start slurring about it at bars, using euphemisms like “ down” and “ blue” or maybe saying that someone is “ having a hard time”. I’m not alone in my struggle with depression and anxiety, and I’m not alone in having experienced the traumas underlying my diagnosis. I know I’m not alone in wanting to find folks who can relate. In wanting to speak openly about the fact that mental health needs to be maintained just like hygiene or diet or exercise routine. I’m not alone in wanting to feel less alone, so I’m writing about my personal experiences here. For you to read, relate to, share, and respond to. I am writing so maybe someone else will realize that they are not alone.

