When cool weather rolls around ( especially cool RAINY weather) I need some extra motivation to stay active. This is the time of the year that I like to set lofty goals, start thinking about events, or sign up for a challenge.

This year, I’m trying Pile on The Miles with Run Eat Repeat! RER is a very fun, very real blog by a runner named Monica. She shares running recaps and tips plus lifestyle, fashion, and nutrition posts. This annual event has been going on for a few years now, but this is the first time that I feel like I can enjoy it ( Goodbye, grad school!). Pile on the Miles is a friendly challenge ( not a competition) that allows you to set a fitness or mileage goal for the month of November. I love the idea of staying motivated through the holidays, and this is the perfect set-up to get ready for a turkey trot or some other fun holiday event.

I made it my goal to run, walk, or hike 100 miles in the month of November. Lofty! I wanted it to be a challenge. I’m training for a half marathon right now, so I already know I’ll have relatively high running mileage, and I think this will be great motivation to walk and hike more. Those two things are great for my happiness but I’ve been slacking on them lately. With the beginning of the weekend looking like this:

weekend Forecast

I shouldn’t have any problem getting out the door!

What about you- Think you’re up for the challenge? You can find all the details and sign up here.

